77  “determined to play” women arrived at Murrayfield Golf Club in the pouring rain to play our first meeting of the season. Not the weather we had hoped for, to compete in the Spring Meeting and 2024 Championship Qualifier.  As the players arrived at Murrayfield GC, the clouds were low, the umbrellas up and the waterproofs zipped up tight!     

The course managed the rain pretty well, many of the earlier starters had to take relief from standing water on both the fairways and the greens however the course drained quite quickly as the rain gradually slowed down giving the afternoon players at least a dry start. Many thanks to the green keeping staff for their hard work and carrying out two course inspections over the course of the day; and the pro shop for relaying all the call-offs.

This was the first time we used the new Scottish Golf App, which helped the competition committee manage the cards much faster. However it was disappointing that many players had not read the pre-competition notes, as this would have significantly reduced  the number of questions at both registration and when cards were returned.

The Clubhouse was well prepared and welcoming and the catering on offer provided players with a good lunch menu and home baked pastries.  Grateful thanks go to the whole team at Murrayfield GC for hosting,  and looking after us so well.

We also couldn’t run our events without the help of our volunteers on the check-in desk. So a huge thank you to Secretary, Maureen Joyce, Competitions Secretary Mags Hobbins and Competition committee members Coleen Derighetti and Fiona Findlay, Junior secretary Amy Foster,  Angela Hughes, Ailsa Cackett, Maggie McPherson, Hilary Laughland, Kate Rorke, Jakob from Scottish Golf and Murrayfield members, Jane Bruce, Lorna Hay Smith, Denise Mitchell, Pam Wheeler, Lynn Lawson, Sally McIntosh, Norma Richmond, Laura Cooper for all their time and support, it is very much appreciated 🤩

Well done and congratulations to all the players who won a placing in the Spring Meeting and to the Championship qualifiers for the A and B Championship, which will take place at Murrayfield on Saturday 11th (first tee at 11.00) and Sunday 12th May (first tee at 12.03). The top qualifier of the day goes to Kate McIntosh (Broomieknowe) with a fantastic score of scratch 75 nett 77!. Well done Kate 👏👏

The full Spring Meeting results can be found in the Competition Results area of the website. Gross Results can also be viewed here and the Net Results here. Note: The report heading shows Playing Handicap however it is actually your Course Handicap. Playing handicap was 95% of your  Course Handicap, used to calculate net results.,

The County Championship draw can be viewed here and the B Championship Draw here. They can also be accessed in the Competition Draws area of the website. Qualifying players have been notified. Spectators are very welcome to come along and support the event. Good luck to all the Championship qualifiers – play well!

Hopefully see you there. 🌞😎⛳️🏆😃

Spring Meeting Results

Please note for MCLGA Competitions:

  • Players can only win one prize which is determined by the higher monetary value.
  • Those members holding a Handicap Index of 17.9 and below on the day of the competition will be eligible for Silver categories and prizes, and those members holding a Handicap Index of 18.0 and above on the day of the competition will be eligible for Bronze categories and prizes.

1st Scratch (Cormack Salver) – Kate McIntosh (Broomieknowe) 75 – £30 voucher

2nd Scratch – Grace Cannon (Prestonfield) 78 (BIH) – £25 voucher

Best Net Overall – Caroline Steedman (Murrayfield) 74 (BIH)- £25 voucher

2nd Best Net Overall – Marion Glauch (Mortonhall) 74 (BIH)- £20 voucher

Silver 1st Handicap – Oonagh Bowerman (Prestonfield) 74 – £15 voucher

Silver 2nd Handicap – Katie Miller (Craigmillar Park) 76 – £12.50 voucher

Bronze Scratch (CM Park Rosebowl) – Ann Brown (Lundin Ladies) 96 – £25 voucher

Bronze 1st Handicap – Shuming Kong (Murrayfield) 75 – £15 voucher

2s on the day  –  Amount collected £63  – 8 in total paying £7.85 per 2

2nd– Jennifer Bryans (Harburn)

7th – Louise Duff (Murrayfield), Elaine Lumsden (Kingsknowe), Isla McCrone (Turnhouse), Lucy Morrison (Kingsknowe) and Claire Barnish (Broomieknowe)

10th – Wendy Nicholson (Baberton)

13th  – Karina Matson (Pumpherston)

Competition Sweep

Total amount raised £64


1st (£12.50) – Kate Mcintosh (Broomieknowe) 75

2nd Equal (£2.20) – Grace Cannon (Prestonfield) 78

2nd Equal (£2.20) – Louise Fraser (Kingsknowe) 78

2nd Equal (£2.20) – Caroline Steedman (Murrayfield) 78


1st Equal (£14.90) – Caroline Steedman (Murrayfield) 74 (BIH)

1st Equal (£14.90) – Marion Glauch (Mortonhall) 74 (BIH)

1st Equal (£14.90) – Oonagh Bowerman (Prestonfield) 74


Raffle Winners

A big thank you to all the players for supporting the raffle. £146 was raised on the day with £102.20 going towards Junior funds.

1st (15%) – £21.90 – Isla McCrone (Turnhouse)

2nd (10%) – £14.60 – Maggie McPherson (Baberton)

3rd (5%) – £7.30 – Claire Barnish (Broomieknowe)

Spring Meeting/Championship Qualifier – Murrayfield GC