The Five a Side League matches have all now been completed.  There were a number that had to be rescheduled due to wet weather and closed courses.  It was a bit touch and go as to whether the final matches would have enough light but no miner’s lamps were required in the end of the day.

Baberton have come out clear victors of Division 1 and will be the winners of the  Macfarlane Trophy.  Of their 8 games they only lost one, winning the other 7.  Only Turnhouse managed to beat them – 3-2 at Turnhouse – but there was no other chink in their armour.  Well done them!

Division 2 was a closer competition with the 2 teams at the top, Liberton and Comiston having the same number of points, both winning 5 of their 7 matches and losing 2.  But Liberton came out top having won 22 games to Comiston’s 21.  Liberton will be awarded the Thomson Trophy.  Well done them!  ( And that one game saved the recorder having to scour through the results to see what the difference was with holes left to play.  Phew!)

Both Liberton and Comiston will go up to play in Division 1 in 2020 with Ratho and Murrayfield taking their places in Division 2 for next year.

Five a Sides